Portugal: the October fires and an update on my life.

I thought it was probably time I updated readers here and on Facebook about the October fires in Portugal and our personal disaster.
Anyone who follows me on Dreamwidth or LiveJournal need not read the LiveJournal material – skip to the text below the link.
Rather than writing everything all over again I’m giving a link to my posts on LiveJournal. I left those unlocked so that people who don’t use social media could visit them. I locked the similar ones on DW because that’s where I chat with most of my close online friends and I didn’t want them to feel suddenly in the ‘public’ eye. There are three long posts, all uploaded on the same date.

https://moth2fic.livejournal.com/2017/11/17/

Since then, we’ve had the full insurance pay-out plus some compensation for the fruit trees, though that’s on hold until they see which (if any) have survived, in the spring. We are still bringing things home, or at least my husband is. There’s a limit to how much weight he can get in the van on each trip. He is taking stuff out for people there and acting as a one way courier is helping to pay for the travel, which, of course, insurance doesn’t cover!
I don’t go with him because he stays in an apartment which belongs to a friend who is in America. The apartment has bottled gas and running water but no light, and no adequate heating. Certainly no hot water unless he boils a kettle. However, for him, it’s a cheap and convenient option.

It’s been five months now, and I have been in a state of shock, and was unable, at first, to write. All thoughts led back to the disaster, which skewed everything and made normal writing impossible. It also impacted on my social interactions with people both online and offline. I was unable to stop talking about it and felt I should retreat rather than impose my emotions on others. Recently, things have improved and I have been able to start writing again. I have fewer nightmares and my sleep patterns are settling. Someone pointed out that because everything is still in a state of flux I have no real closure, so the disaster has remained and remains very current for me.

Our UK house is in chaos with boxes everywhere – our own, and deliveries for my husband’s next trip. We had, of course, replaced our furniture and now have to decide what to keep, what to move around, and what to dispose of. The boxes, as well as containing books and china, tend to have a liberal sprinkling of rat dirt, wasps nests and ash. Not pleasant! And most of the time I’m on my own. Not easy!

Needless to say, it’s more difficult than that for many of our friends in Portugal (a mixture of Portuguese, English, Dutch and Belgian). Internet and phone contact is still erratic and I can only guarantee contacting my husband on the days he goes into town to see the council or the estate agent. Some of our friends are rebuilding. Some are looking elsewhere. Some are trying to keep their businesses going while the area gets back on its feet. So I’m living through all that vicariously as well as through our own problems.

There are ‘trivial’ problems, too. We have had to employ someone to remove trees that are still standing from our land, though we are not allowed to remove olives. The electricity was, of course, cut off, and we are not being charged, but the electricity board refuses to believe that there are still live wires which are in fact making part of the ruin live. We need electricity, to filter the pool which was undamaged but filled with ash. We are thinking of solar panels. The banks – in Portugal and UK – are making a fuss about moving our insurance money from one country to another and we have to prove we are not money laundering. With no phone service everything needs a trip into town. The road to town and the longer road to the border were badly damaged and repaired too quickly so are now miles and miles of potholes.

I have just read a novel set in Portugal (and have reviewed it here, separately from my monthly reviews) that made me feel a lot of emotion connected with the countryside there. But as well as triggering some distress it made me acknowledge that it is still a lovely country and its people are worthy of admiration, not least for the way they have coped with the tragedy of last October.

The photograph at the head of this is the view from what was our house. Now, we have a view and a ruin for sale.

2 thoughts on “Portugal: the October fires and an update on my life.

  1. Dear Elizabeth, I have read slowly and carefully all the messages you have written. I am amazed and so very sorry. You have been living a nightmare. I pray for you and your family every day and will continue… but MUCH better informed than before. I think most people like me will assume that things are getting back to normal, but your very clear explanations have helped me see how far that is from the truth. It is so hard that after all your hard work (AND Colin’s !!) that you have lost so much and so much of it is irreplaceable. I hope the Insurance people deal fairly and quickly with you, so that you can make your UK home comfortable and get sorted out soon.

    My life is humdrum by comparison. Just looking after the girls and keeping busy with various activities at the local Church . I have even joined the PCC!! My dad would be proud!! I suspect it will take a long time for your health to improve. I think sleeping must be difficult after all the stress and worry. Poor Colin on an endless trek back and forth. Awful to see all his hard work gone. I know you will be taking care of each other and thank goodness you were not there at the time…

    Hope all is well with Gail and Jamie (and Andrew) . After Easter weekend, the girls will be away in London with Paul, so I will ring and see if you are able to chat. Till then, take care. Rest when you can and be good to yourself. With my love and prayers, Joyce xx

    ________________________________

    • Thank you so much! I’ve kept meaning to phone but you know how it is – I remember when it’s really inconvenient!! Colin arrived home tonight and is booked on a ferry to go out again next Tuesday. I will be free as air at that point and able to chat for as long as I like!! Things are quite hard and there isn’t much light at the end of the tunnel yet. I’m glad you’re having a calm and peaceful time! You deserve it! I’ll look forward to speaking to you and will tell you more then!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.